Beer and Things

I often write about the power of intention and the spoken word. I realize I need to follow my own advice, and it became apparent to me this week when I felt I was struggling for some unidentifiable reason. I just moved from my home in Sarasota, Florida to North Carolina. I suddenly felt untethered, adrift in my lovely condo, and thinking that once again I would have to forge a new path. I don’t mean to sound that dramatic, as it’s not that I don’t know the terrain I’ve just moved to. I had the good fortune of spending my summers in the mountains of North Carolina for the past 6 years. So, I really couldn’t put my finger on what was truly bugging me. I’m told moving is probably one of the more stressful situations one has to deal with in life. It’s up there next to the death of a loved one, divorce, illness, and a financial melt-down.

So, last night, I was sitting outdoors at sunset, along with several hundred people, at Asheville’s newest Belgian Brewery, knocking back one of their more exotic beers. Asheville, it seems, is a city that prides itself on its international breweries, and free thinking people. I decided to do what I tell other people to do, show some gratitude! Gratitude, the great multiplier of life. It begins with two simple words – thank you. Your subconscious mind will become your helper when you set your intention to appreciate all the life lessons you are learning, and all the simple things that we take for granted. In my case, a cold beer and a fabulous view! Apart from feeling gratitude for sitting in a beautiful spot and watching people enjoying themselves, I simply set my intention to act, to speak, and to make decisions only through the vibration of gratitude and appreciation. It was a good start on the new chapter of my life.

Leave a Comment

